In a group, scholars do not present themselves as members of the University but rather as a community of colleagues, who, working together in Göttingen, shaped their common discipline. Here you can see Wolfgang Freiherr von Waltershausen Sartorius, Wilhelm Weber, Friedrich Wöhler and August Grisebach in their circle of intimates.

Wolfgang Sartorius Freiherr von Waltershausen (1809–1876), Professor of Mineralogy and Geology, Wilhelm Weber (1804–1891), Professor of Physics, Friedrich Wöhler (1800–1882), Professor of Chemistry, Heinrich August Rudolf Grisebach (1814–1879), Professor of Botany, date unknown (2nd half of the 19th century), Carte de Visite, State and University Library of Göttingen, Voit Collection

Scroll to Top